bridgesfoodventures

All things food: health and nutrition, books and blogs, recipes and results all set to the backdrop of my own journey feeding and loving this body I'm in!

Chocolate Coconut Cranberry Bark June 12, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — bridgesfoodventures @ 9:11 pm

http://instagr.am/p/LzLelczHUg/ (While I am still not hi=tech enough to actually post photos, this is a link to one that I took with my phone).

Ingredients:

Artisana Coconut Butter

Dark Chocolate Chips

Sea Salt

Coconut Flakes

Dried Cranberries

Okay, so this is a totally off the cuff, no measuring cups involved, hormonally-motivated chocolate deliciousness.  It violates my best health and dietary preferences b/c it contains some sugar.  I believe that can be fixed in future versions.  I was having an “I need chocolate now and it better be easy” sort of moment.

In a pyrex measuring cup, I heaped 3 parts Artisana coconut butter and 1 part 72% cocoa dairy free choco chips (that’s where the sugar comes in.  This could be done with broken pieces of unsweetened chocolate and some stevia or other sweetener).  add a healthy dash of sea salt.  Melt in the microwave, 2 minutes on half power until it’s smooth (I also am not a frequent microwave user, in an ideal universe, I’d have done this in a glass jar set in a pot of gently boiling water, but it just wasn’t that sort of day).  stir in a big handful of unsweetened coconut flakes, enough so the whole thing will get some texture to it (about the same size handful that the chips had been before they were melted), then stir in about half that size handful of dried cranberries.  Pour it into some smallish container, mine went into this 4X4 glass dish.  now, pop it into the freezer.  Don’t panic, while it’s in there, you can lick all of the utensils. This will be very satisfying. Then finish cleaning the kitchen, maybe put the laundry in the dryer, etc.  Now, queue up some 30 Rock or other mindlessness, and go get your  goodies out of the freezer.  Firm pressure and a butter knife will break it into cubes.  You don’t need to store it in the freezer.  Once chilled the texture will be great at room temp.  IT’S SO GOOD!

 

One Response to “Chocolate Coconut Cranberry Bark”

  1. christine thomas Says:

    Bridge, I love your newsletter! Thanks for sharing!! It sounds sooo yummy, I think if I make that I’ll add some walnuts, everything tastes better with walnuts…:)


Leave a Reply

