bridgesfoodventures

All things food: health and nutrition, books and blogs, recipes and results all set to the backdrop of my own journey feeding and loving this body I'm in!

Vanilla Ice Cream on top of a Brownie! All Healthy! May 14, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — bridgesfoodventures @ 8:44 pm

Now that I am all moved in to my sweet new place, I have had a chance to do some cooking.  But let’s face it, less than two weeks after move-in there’s still loads to keep me busy, so the first meals in our new home are best kept simple.  In my book, simple rarely involves skipping dessert, especially on a Saturday night.  So I turned to elanaspantry.com, where there’s always some easy recipes.  I usually have to convert to meet my nutritional preferences, and I am always prone to making changes just because.  This time, both worked beautifully.  

For the Brownies:

Break off

half of a bar of Sunspire baking chocolate.  (dairy and sugar free).

Chop this up roughly, and make sure you have about 1/2 a cup.  Add to food processor. with:

1/4 cup coconut sugar

process until you have a consistency like course sand

Add:

1/2 tsp himalayan sea salt

1/2 tsp baking soda

mix to combine. Add:

2 eggs 

1/2 cup liquid coconut nectar

1/2 cup coconut oil or ghee

Mix. Pour into oiled 8×8 pan.   Sprinkle over the top:

2/3 cup course walnuts. 

bake at 350 for 30 minutes.  YUM!

ON TO THE ICE CREAM!!  Once I discovered how easy it was to make healthy, vegan ice creams in my little Krupps ice cream maker, I was hooked.  I think ice cream is about the easiest dessert out there.  A little preplanning helps.  For example, I have a small electric IC Maker, and I always store the the bowl of it in the freezer so that it’s ready to go.  Some recipes will call for chilling the mixture before processing it, but if you don’t, it just comes out a tad softer.  Here’s my go-to base:

Vanilla Ice Cream, Vegan

To your blender, add:

1 cup cashews

2 cups water

4 dates

1/4 cup coconut nectar

1 Tbsp vanilla extract

Pinch salt

Blend until smooth.  In my Oster this can take about 5 minutes.  From here, you could add whatever you want for flavor:  cacao, cinnamon, lavender, maple, fruit, etc.  If you want chunky additions, add those after blending is completed, or according to your ice cream maker’s instructions.  

Process in ice creme maker for 20 minutes.  Eat right away freeze the leftovers.  

Enjoy! 

 

Leave a Reply

