bridgesfoodventures

All things food: health and nutrition, books and blogs, recipes and results all set to the backdrop of my own journey feeding and loving this body I'm in!

Magic Cinnamon Rolls April 8, 2012

Filed under: Uncategorized — bridgesfoodventures @ 8:37 pm
Tags: , , ,

So this morning (Easter Sunday) I set out to make these Cinnamon Rolls from Paleo Perfectly.  We don’t do the whole easter basket routine anymore, but I still wanted something special, so I woke the family with fresh, hot cinnamon rolls delivered to bed! Of course I had to tinker with the recipe some, so I’m including my version.  Not only were they fabulous, but I liked them better than any standard cinnamon roll I’ve had.  Also, they were simple enough to have them finished by the time everyone else woke up!

Preheat your oven to 350, then make the dough.  In a large bowl (I used my kitchen aid with regular mixer attachment), combine:

1 egg

1 flax egg (1/4 c warm water with 1/2 tsp flax meal)

1/4 melted ghee

1 Tbsp Maple Syrup

Then Add:

2 1/2 c almond flour

1/2 tsp sea salt

1/2 tsp baking soda

Turn the dough out onto a large sheet of parchment, cover with a second sheet of parchment, partially flatten into a rectangle, and roll it out with your pin between the parchment until it’s a little bigger than 9×13, and between 1/4-1/2 inch thick.  Make the filling:

3 Tbsp melted ghee

2 Tbsp cinnamon

3 Tbsp granular coconut sugar

1 Tbsp coconut nectar (or maple or honey, but a liquid sweetener).

Spread this filling evenly over the dough. It’s a little dry to spread evenly.  I globbed it on in evenly spaced dollops, then smoothed it out, being sure to get it to the edges, especially the shorter edges.  Sprinkle with:

1/4 to 1/2 cup ground pecans

Beginning with a long edge, using the parchment to help you, roll it into a nice log.  Slice into about 1.5 inch pieces, mine made 8 pretty small cinnamon rolls.  Pop in the oven and bake 17-20 minutes, until beginning to turn golden.  While it’s baking, whip of the frosting.  The frosting was AMAZING!  I made it up, but I think it will be the beginning of whole new approach to dairy and sugar free frostings.  seriously.   You’ll need the following ingredients:

1/3 cup maple syrup, gently warmed

1 1/2 tsp arrowroot, whisked into the maple

about a 1/3 cup of melted coconut butter (not oil).

 I warmed the maple and whisked in the arrowroot by placing it in a small stainless bowl over the oven vent while they were baking.  Not sure if this mattered to the ultimately perfect icing or not, but at least use it a room temperature. I added the warm, melted coconut butter a little at a time until it suddenly all thickened a bit and became more opaque.  Besides being a different color, it was the actual consistency of a traditional, creamy icing.  Spoon the thickish icing over the hot rolls and serve.  I will be amazed if they make it till lunch time.  I didn’t photograph these, but the family is lobbying for a batch next weekend, so who knows, I may be adding a photo VERY soon!

 

2 Responses to “Magic Cinnamon Rolls”

  1. Christian Says:

    Bridge, the cinnamon rolls were amazing and you got the frosting absolutely perfect!

  2. hello bridge. i love you information and i would really like to sit and converse more about recipes that are good for your mind, body, and soul. thus far, i really have enjoyed reading your info!


Leave a Reply

