bridgesfoodventures

All things food: health and nutrition, books and blogs, recipes and results all set to the backdrop of my own journey feeding and loving this body I'm in!

Super Quick weeknight Lentil Soup April 5, 2011

Filed under: Uncategorized — bridgesfoodventures @ 8:53 am

The other night I got too ambitious and we didn’t eat dinner until almost 8:30, so tonight I was determined to be a little quicker on my feet–as my dear friend and fellow foodie, Eden, told me today, I need more really healthy, satisfying, sustainable weeknight dishes.  Well, this was the answer.  Josephine (my 4th grader, occasionally referred to as J-Small or Jose) had THREE BOWLS!  I had decided on lentil soup and a green salad, then did something I rarely do, and stopped by Trader Joe’s on my way home for dry lentils and some nice lettuce.  They had neither.  Trader Joe’s is odd.  It’s got amazing deals on really handy stuff and lacks some real staples.  I mean, NO LENTILS?!, but individually wrapped produce abounds.

Not only did I make this work, I made it sing! Christian and Jose didn’t believe me when I said I didn’t add ham.   it was that good.  I’m about to eat another bowl for lunch, and am really excited about it.  The smoked paprika is key, worth a quick trip to the store if you don’t have it on hand (probably NOT Trader Joes).

I accompanied it with a bag of TJ’s brussels sprouts (since they had not fresh lettuce and the bagged salads just didn’t appeal to me today), trimmed and tossed into a pan with olive oil and salt at 425 for about 3o mins.  I drizzled it with Karina’s Maple Tahini Dressing.  YUM!

Super Quick Weeknight (Good enough for Sunday) Lentil Soup

One pkg TJ’s Mirepoix (about three cups small dice of celery, carrots, onions)

1 Tbsp coconut oil

2 cloves garlic, minced

two handfuls TJ’s Southern Greens Blend (braising mix)

2 pkgs TJs cooked lentils (you know the ones, they have beets in the same size pkg?)

1.5 pkgs vegetable broth

1 tsp smoked paprika

1/2 Tbsp sea salt

instructions:

1. Melt coconut oil in soup pot over med heat

2. add mirepoix and garlic, stir, cook until softened

3. add the greens, the paprika, and the salt, stir.  Heat about 3 mins more.

4. add the lentils and the broth

5.  bring to boil and simmer until piping hot, and greens are soft.  about 10 mins.

6.  Serve with parmesan or:

Bridge’s Vegan not-parm

mix equal parts nutritional yeast and ground flax seed (about 2 Tbsp each?).  add a pinch smoked paprika, and a few pinches of salt.  a few drops/tiny drizzle of olive oil.  stir it up, sprinkle on things.


 

Leave a Reply

